Nobel Prize Chemistry 2019
Oct 10, 2019

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 rewards the development of lithium-ion batteries

John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino are the Nobel laureates in chemistry for 2019 for their work on lithium-ion batteries that allowed to open for a technical revolution.

In the press release, the Nobel Prize Committee highlights the fact that “they have laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society, and are of the greatest benefit to humankind.”

This motivation is well in line with one of the foundations of EIT InnoEnergy to promote technologies that will enable the transformation of the power, transport and industrial sectors for a sustainable energy future. It also values even more our EBA250 initiative, and the work along the battery value chain that is pursued with our 300+ stakeholders.


More EBA250 news

Scroll to Top